Yeah Chakra’in Me Crazy: A Series of Articles Explaining Chakras

By Georgia Chapman

Chakras are energy centres in our bodies. There are seven main chakras, although there are 114 in total throughout the body.

The word chakra originates from Sanskrit (चक्र) and means ‘wheel’ or ‘cycle.’ They are aligned with the spine and referred to as energy centres that distribute the prana/chi/energy throughout the body. They are within the aura and within the physical body. You can’t see or touch them, but you can sense and feel them.

The chakras are directly related to feelings, emotions and behaviour – and are also linked with the physical body. Each one has a physical connection to the body, and if this chakra is blocked, then we experience the physical effects, which comes out as illness, dis-ease and emotional issues. It is important to know what connection each chakra has with the physical body, what illnesses are connected to which chakra and how to allow the energy to flow freely so we can heal ourselves.

Chakra meditations, reiki and crystal healing are some ways that the chakras can be balanced. Focusing on the major blockages helps balance the minor ones. Meditating with a crystal or the corresponding colour is a good first step to learning to connect with the chakras.


The 7 main chakras

I am going to focus on the seven main chakras and will introduce each one in more detail over the next seven newsletters.

  1. Root chakra
  2. Sacral chakra
  3. Solar plexus chakra
  4. Heart chakra
  5. Throat chakra
  6. Third eye chakra
  7. Crown chakra


  1. Root chakra 

Sanskrit name:
Colour: Red
Crystals: Ruby, garnet, obsidian
Location: At the base of the spine, near the tailbone
Emotional: Stability, grounding, prosperity.
Physical imbalances: Problems in the legs, knees and feet, arthritis, eating disorders, constipation and the immune system.


  1. Sacral chakra

Sanskrit name:
Colour: Orange
Crystals: Carnelian, amber
Location: Lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the belly button
Emotional: Sexuality, pleasure, desire.
Physical imbalances: Sexual issues, reproductive problems and addiction.


  1. Solar plexus chakra

Sanskrit name:
Colour: Yellow
Crystals: Amber, yellow tourmaline, citrine
Location: Solar plexus
Emotional: Self-respect, self-confidence and self-esteem. Ability to be assertive and feel compassion.
Physical imbalances: Digestive and liver disease, stomach ulcers, high blood pressure and colon diseases.


  1. Heart chakra

Sanskrit name:
Colour: Green/pink
Crystals: Aventurine, rose quartz
Location: The heart
Emotional: Love, compassion, altruism. This is the chakra of love, joy, gratitude and forgiveness.
Physical imbalances: Asthma, lung disease, arm and wrist problems, as well as back and shoulder pain.  

  1. Throat chakra

Sanskrit name:
Colour: Blue
Crystals: Celestite, aquamarine, crysocola
Location: The throat
Emotional: Self expression, communication, including the ability to talk freely and honestly as well as be a good listener.
Physical imbalances: Throat problems, laryngitis, tonsillitis thyroid issues, ear infections.


  1. Third Eye chakra

Sanskrit name:
Colour: Indigo, white
Crystals: Fluorite, indigo tourmaline
Location: Brow level above the nose/lower forehead
Emotional: The meaning of life, the road to transcendence, ie spiritual enlightenment, wisdom.
Physical imbalances: Headaches, blurry vision, hearing problems.


  1. Crown chakra

Sanskrit name:
Colour: Multi-coloured, violet or white
Crystals: Clear quartz
Location: The crown of the head
Emotional: Intuition, perception, imagination. Living in the moment, trusting our inner intuition, our sixth sense.
Physical imbalances: Depression, sensitivity to light, leading a life separated from reality


Here is a short video introduction to the seven chakras:


Leave a Reply